The Unreasonable Horologist

If I wore a watch, which I don’t

Because of the sweat I’d know I was behind time.

Time is relative but no relation of mine.

I might have missed it.

I am almost certain.

I feel the truth, and God knows nothing.

Do I still have a rendezvous with life?

I wonder when I will begin to live.

Introspective, on a jaundiced cot,

Oppressed by the droning of wavelengths,

Discontented by the clicking of puny arms,

In the basement of a pre war building,

Grappling with the thought my life is without meaning.

I sleep with the rodents.

They shit on the table I eat at.

There has to be more than this.

We miss out on the best this world has to offer.

New York City is a home I can’t afford.

I sleep in my clothes plotting my departure.

If I could turn all the clocks back I’d love to start over.

 

 

About gablesworth

Hello, I'm Sean. Writing is something I need to do. I like to share so stop by anytime. please.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment